Finlay crowned king of the hill in Goatfell race

And they’re off, runners start the race in overcast conditions.

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Arran Banner – subscribe today for as little as 48 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

Finlay Wild of Lochaber AC has once again taken the king of the hill title by winning the Goatfell Hill Race with a time of one hour and 13 minutes – just 49 seconds short of the course record set in 2017.

A name familiar to all in the hill running fraternity, Finlay joined 107 other runners who competed in the popular Scottish Athletics event which is organised by Shettleston Harriers.

The challenging route taken by the runners starts and finishes at the Ormidale Pavilion in Brodick and is just over 15km (9.6miles), however, it also involves an ascent and descent of 874m (2,867ft), over road, forest paths, rough track and some boulder scrambling at the summit of Goatfell.

As in previous years, a number of local runners took part in the challenge with Michal Bochenek receiving the trophy for the first male local to finish the race with a time of one hour, 43 minutes and five seconds, and Corinna Goeckeritz taking the female title with a time of one hour, 46 minutes and 54 seconds.

Other local runners, or those running under the Arran Runners’ banner, included; Gregor Adamson, 1:45:50; David Allsop, 1:34:29; Gabriele Bucciarello, 1:51:51; Jon Smith, 1:55:32; Andy McNamara, 1:57:06; Graeme Johnston, 1:58:01; Zara Mackay, 2:27:46; and Andrew Walsh.

Despite the changeable weather, with torrential downpours at times, runners recorded favourable times and only two people did not manage to finish the race.

Race organiser Peter Mackie of Shettleston Harriers said that he was delighted to see the event taking place again, after it was cancelled in 2020 and 2021, and he presented the traditional beer and trophies to the winners of the various age categories at a short prize-giving held after the race.