Arran Banner Golf – week 37

A total of 19 participants took part in the Connor Smith Trophy.

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Arran Banner – subscribe today for as little as 48 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

Shiskine Golf Club

Thursday September 2, Ladies 12-hole medal. Silver: 1 and scratch and medal winner Liz Kerr 50-11=39, 2 Jenni Turnbull 52-12=40. Bronze: 1 Carole Stewart 54-17=37, 2 Yvonne Brothers 54-15=39. Despite Carole’s fabulous score, she wasn’t a last year’s medal winner, so Liz wins that. Magic twos, Fiona Henderson, Pat Adamson.

Saturday September 4, Connor Smith Trophy. A total of 19 Juniors from Shiskine, Brodick, Lamlash and Whiting Bay took part. They played six holes off the junior tees and were awarded points for nearest the pin and for the first to sink their putt. Everyone enjoyed themselves and after having burger, chips and juice in the clubhouse there was a prizegiving. The scores were very close, but Ewen Southwick (Shiskine) won with 25 points and received a gold medal from captain Fiona Henderson. Kirsty Hume (Brodick) and Finlay Jessop (Shiskine) came second with 24 points and received a silver medal. All the other juniors were given bronze medals. Many thanks to the Smith family for donating sweets and medals. Thanks to all the helpers and to Alan and his team for the food and drink. Special thanks again to Clare Buchanan, junior convenor, for coordinating and organising this event.

All of the medal winners at the Connor Smith Trophy held in Shiskine.

Brodick Golf Club

Wednesday September 1, Summer Cup, 41 played. 1 Iain MacDonald 67-8=59 acb, 2 Gordon Hendry 66-7=59, 3 Angus Raeburn 73-13=60. Scratch Gordon Hendry 66.

Fixtures: Saturday September 11, AGA Senior Handicap at Brodick at 1pm. Sunday September 12, Brandon qualifier. Wednesday September 15, Flag Competition and annual prize-giving.

Whiting Bay Golf Club

Wednesday September 1, Summer Trophy, 22 played. 1 Jamie Macpherson 5, 60 acb and lowest gross, 2 Peter Towndrow 14, 60, 3 Sandy Pringle 13, 63, 4 John Pennycott 12, 64. Magic twos, Duncan Heenan @3, Nicol Auld and Jamie Macpherson @16, John Pennycott and Peter Towndrow @17.

Fixtures: Sunday September 12, The Aitken Rosebowl. Wednesday September 15, Summer Trophy final round.

Corrie Golf Club

Wednesday September 1, medal. 1 R McLean 72-15=57 scratch, 2 J McGovern 78-13=65, A Smith 80-15=65, R Logan 73-8=65. Fixtures: Saturday September 11, 18-hole medal.

Lamlash Golf Club

Thursday September 2, Commando Cup and Summer Cup. 1 Jack McNally 68-7=61, winner of Commando Cup, 2 Neil Young 68-5=63, 3 Billy O’Connor  98-31=67, 4 Billy Skinner 88-20=68 BIH. Best scratch, Jack McNally 68, BIH over Neil Young. Magic twos, Jack McNally @16th. Hole 16 drawn, Jack McNally wins again. Fixtures: Saturday September 11, AGA Seniors Handicap at Brodick. Sunday September 12, Medal Shield final round, noon draw. Thursday September 16, Summer Cup and Captain’s Prize Day. Ladies section: Wednesday September 1, Fleet 6. 1 June Richardson 86-23=63, 2 Jenny Pattenden  99-35=64. Scratch, Susan Butchard 83.

Machrie Bay Golf Club

Tuesday September 7, medal. 1 Reuben Betley 62, 2 John Milesi 63, 3 Brian Sherwood 71.

Fixtures: Tuesday September 14, sweep, tee-off 12.30pm. Tuesday September 21, Captain’s Day, tee-off noon, to be played over nine holes, with tea and cakes afterwards.

Arran Golfers Association

Corrie Golf Club hosted the Arran Golfers Association’s autumn meeting on Sunday September 5 where a large entry list enjoyed beautiful midge free weather and a course presented in great condition.

Results: Drumadoon Cup winners Q Oliver net 55. 1st Class: 1 I McLaren 58 net, 2 G Hendry 61 net, 3 J Pennycott 62′ net. 2nd Class: 1 Q Oliver 55 net, 2 L Dutton 58 net, 3rd S Kerr 62 net. Scratch I McLaren 65. Magic twos winner R Crawford.



All of the medal winners at the Connor Smith Trophy held in Shiskine. No_B37WGolf01

A total of 19 participants took part in the Connor Smith Trophy. No_B37WGolf02