Arran Banner Golf – week 36, 2021

The 2021 Whiting Bay champion Jamie Stewart with runner-up Gavin Mainds and club captain Stan Rainey

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Arran Banner – subscribe today for as little as 48 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Whiting Bay Golf Club

Sunday August 29, Club Championship final. The 2021 championship final saw Jamie Stewart and Gavin Mainds go head to head over the usual 36-hole format. It was a tight match throughout with Gavin edging the first 18 holes being one up on Jamie at the lunch break.

The second round was equally close but Gavin approached the 36th green one hole up and seemingly in control. Jamie’s second shot held the green but left a long uphill putt which he struck straight and true for a birdie three. Gavin, pin high put putting on a tricky line, just missed for the half leaving the tie all square after 36 holes. It took a further four holes before the contest was decided in Jamie’s favour.

Needless to say the match was played in the best of spirit and provided fine entertainment for the small crowd that followed it on what was an unseasonably cold day. Thanks go to George Mckechnie who referee’d with his usual professionalism and the course was, as we have come to expect, in top shape. Thanks to Stewart for that and especially for ensuring the greens were trimmed on the morning.

Commiserations to Gavin on coming so close; his time will surely come and finally, congratulations go to Jamie Stewart, our club champion for 2021, for his first championship win.

Sunday August 29, The J C Reid Trophy final. At the turn, Mark West seemed to be cruising to a straightforward victory over John Pennycott only for John to reduce a four-hole deficit to one hole on the 16th green. Mark responded, however, and managed to secure a two and one victory on the 17th green.

Wednesday August 25, Summer Trophy, 17 played. 1 Dave Hackett (13)63, 2 Nicol Auld (3)64 and lowest gross, 3rd Mark West (11)65 acb, 4 Gavin Mainds (6)65 acb. Magic twos Nicol Auld @3rd, Jamie Stewart @12th, Sandy Pringle @17th.

Fixtures: Saturday September 4, Wolfi’s Stableford. Sunday September 5, AGA Autumn Handicap, Corrie GC. Wednesday September 8, The Bannatyne Cup. Saturday September 11, Texas Scramble.

Lamlash Golf Club

Thursday August 26, Summer Cup. 1 Rob Niven 75-13=62, 2 Iain Murchie 70-7=63 BIH, 3 Stuart Campbell 68-5=63, 4 Ian Bremner 71-7=64. Best scratch, Dougie Macfarlane 67. Magic twos, Iain Murchie and Serg El Adm @16th, Jim Young @14th, Willie Currie @4th, Ian Bremner @5th and 11th.

Sunday August 29, Hastings Cup. 1 Derek Harrison 78-19=59 BIH, 2 Graeme Andrew 70-11=59, 3 Robbie McGunnigle 76-14=62. Best scratch, Graeme Andrew 70. Magic twos, Robbie McGunnigle @2nd, Stuart Campbell @4th, Rob Niven @14th. Hole 4 drawn, Stuart Campbell winner. Overall winner of Hastings Cup, Billy Skinner total 129 BIH over Ian Bremner 129.

Fixtures: Sunday September 5, Autumn Handicap at Corrie. For late entries contact Euan McKinnon at Corrie Golf Club. Thursday September 9, Summer Cup. Make up own groups and see starter for times.

Brodick Golf Club

Wednesday August 25, Summer Cup, 38 played. Finlay Sillars 71-11=60 acb, Angus Raeburn 74-14=60 acb, Greg McCrae 65-5=60 acb. Scratch, Ewan McKinnon 60.

Sunday August 29, Brandon Cup Final and sweep. Brandon Cup winner, Terry Raeside
75-12=63 acb, Brian Smith 79-16=63, Donald McKinnie 77-13=64 acb, Scratch, Matt Dobson 68.

Fixture: Sunday September 5, AGA Autumn Handicap/Drumadoon Cup at Corrie Golf Club.

Corrie Golf Club

Wednesday August 25, medal. 1 A Smith 73-15=58, 2 A McDonald 75-15=60, 3 R I McMillan 84-21=63. Scratch, R Logan 72.

Saturday August 28, 18-hole medal. 1 D Logan 72-12=60 and scratch, 2 W Paton 73-9=64, 3 A Napier 76-11=65. A Napier won the Magic twos which has rolled over for quite some time.

Fixtures: Saturday September 4, 18-hole medal. Wednesday September 8, 18-hole medal.

Machrie Bay Golf Club

Tuesday August 24, Lawson-Cameron final. Campbell Laing won on extra hole over Brian Sherwood .

Tuesday August 24,  Stableford sweep, played from the yellow tees. 1 John Milesi 43pts, 2 Alex Morrison-Cowan 32pts, 3 Reuben Betley 29pts.

Fixtures: Tuesday September 7,  Medal, tee-off 12.30pm.

Shiskine Golf Club

Saturday August 28, past captains. A total of 11 past captains of Shiskine, including current (new) captain Andy Gray enjoyed a fun game of golf followed by a social and a lovely dinner afterwards in the clubhouse. Willie Kelso is on form at the moment and won the golf.


Machrie Bay’s Brian Sherwood presents Campbell Laing with the Lawson-Cameron trophy. No_B36ABGolf01

A total of 11 past captains of Shiskine Golf Club took part in a friendly game with Willie Kelso taking the top spot.  No_B36ABGolf02

The 2021 Whiting Bay champion Jamie Stewart with runner-up Gavin Mainds and club captain Stan Rainey. NO_B36golf03

J C Reid Trophy winner Mark West and runner-up John Pennycott and club captain Stan Rainey. NO_B36golf04