Five candidates in fight for Arran seat

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Arran Banner – subscribe today for as little as 48 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Five candidates will be on the ballot paper when voters in the North Ayrshire and Arran constituency head to the polls for the general election on December 12.

With the deadline for nominations passed it has been confirmed that the names on the ballot will be:

Patricia Gibson – Scottish National Party (SNP)
Cameron Gilmore – Scottish Labour Party
David Nairn – Scottish Green Party
David Rocks – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
Louise Young – Scottish Liberal Democrats

Preparations are continuing to ensure the Parliamentary Election goes as smoothly as possible in North Ayrshire and Arran.

Returning Officer Craig Hatton has urged residents to ensure they are registered to vote – and to consider using a postal vote.

He added: ‘Time is running out to register – in order to vote, your name must be on the electoral register by Tuesday, November 26.

‘This will be the first winter election in decades and there is no way of knowing for certain at this stage what the weather will be like on December 12.

‘So we would urge residents to consider using a postal vote, as it will mean they won’t have to deal with potential winter conditions on election day.

‘It’s a very straightforward process and you register for a postal vote by visiting’

Those who will use a postal vote are urged to return them as soon as possible as the busy pre-Christmas period will be getting underway for the Royal Mail.

The deadline for registering to vote is Tuesday, November 26, while the deadline for registering a new postal vote and postal proxy applications is 5pm on the same date.

For applications to vote by proxy (not postal proxy or emergency proxies), the deadline is 5pm on Wednesday, December 4.

A full list of polling places is available on the North Ayrshire Council website. Polling stations will open 7am to 10pm on Thursday, December 12. It is anticipated that a declaration will be made in the early hours of Friday, December 13.

  • Arran CVS is hosting a hustings event on Wednesday November 27 at 7.30pm in Brodick hall to which all candidates have been invited.


Returning Officer Craig Hatton is pictured signing the writ issued by the Queen, ordering the holding of an election in the North Ayrshire and Arran constituency. NO_B46election01