Superhero Power Rangers go-go to victory

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Arran Banner – subscribe today for as little as 48 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Words and pictures by Hugh Boag

There was a welcome home win at the annual cricket fun day on Saturday when the Power Rangers used their super-powers to secure victory.

There were just four teams taking part in this year’s round robin event. But the sunshine and the beer tent saw the day go with a swing.

Each team took to the field with a walk on theme tune appropriate to their name or costume which, along with the Power Rangers, featured plate winners The Weirdos, Suited and Booted and The Little Dazzlers, a group of visitors who come every year and have a good winning record in recent years.

Play continued during the afternoon with umpire Aiden Smith not having to deal with too much controversy as Peter McMullen kept the score. Comentary as always was by Rich E Beno with Trevor Helliwell on the sound deck and Harry Anderson on bar duty.

Organised by the Sannox Cricket Club there was also a raffle and tombola on offer to the entertain the visitors.

The plate final was won by The Weirdos before the much anticipated final between the Power Rangers and The Little Dazzlers which the home side won comfortably, much to their delight.

Chairman Eric Dunn thanked everyone who had helped organise the event which he promised would be back next year.


The Power Rangers strike a pose. 01_B32cricket01

The Power Rangers unmasked: Euan Smith, Frazer Barr, Finlay Sillars, Danny Head, Dave Hackett and Gavin McCrae. 01_B32cricket

The Little Dazzlers who finished runners-up. 01_B32cricket03

A youngster at the stumps. 01_B32cricket04

Power Ranger Finlay Sillars on fielding duty. 01_B32cricket05

The Weirdos led by captain Scott Weir. 01_B32cricket06

Suited and Booted look the part. 01_B32cricket07

Rich E Beno in full voice. 01_B32cricket08

Power Ranger Gavin McCrae at the stumps as the crowd watches the action. 01_B32cricket09

Euan Smith in left-hand batting action. 01_B32cricket10

Diana Dunn holds the top raffle prize at the tombola stall. 01_B32cricket11

Danny Head in bowling action. 01_B32cricket12

Captain Scott Weir receives the Plate trophy for The Weirdos from Rich E Beno. 01_B32cricket13

Power Rangers captain Dave Hackett with the winners trophy presented by Rich E Beno. 01_B32cricket14