Double joy for Jenny at bowls prize-giving

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Arran Banner – subscribe today for as little as 48 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

In the attractive surroundings of Brodick Golf Club premises, Brodick Bowling Club held their annual dinner and presentation of trophies with members celebrating an increase in numbers and a very successful season for the club.

Club president Kate Nichols welcomed a good turnout of members and friends, although sadly one or two prominent members were unable to be present.

Kate commented on how good a season it had been with an increase in membership and excellent weather.

The favourable weather ensured that most rink games went ahead and the excellent condition of the bowling green was also praised, with thanks going to Stevie Bunyan and his team.

The season’s list of prize-winners and the runners-up was: ladies’ singles winner, Jenny Douglas; runner-up, Ann Hollingworth. Gents’ singles winner, Charlie Weir; runner-up, Colin Haggarty. Pairs’ winners, Charlie Weir and John Robinson; runners-up, Jim Nichols and Charles Hendry. Triples’ winners, Colin Haggarty, Charlie Weir and Robert Crawford; runners-up, Andy McCrindle, Kenny Mabon and Aileen Latona. George Watson Trophy winners, Jim Nichols and Jim Gourlay. President’s Bowl winner, Charlie Weir. Stewart Cup winner, Charlie Weir. Club Champion of Champions winner, Jenny Douglas. Arran Bowling Federation ladies’ singles trophy winner, Ann Hollingworth. Arran Bowling Federation gents’ singles trophy winner, Charlie Weir.

Ladies Singles winner Jenny Douglas receives her trophy from Ian Leader. No_B50bowling01

John Robinson receives the Pairs Trophy that he and Charlie Weir won.  No_B50bowling02

Jim Nichols receives the George Watson Trophy that he shares with Jim Gourlay. No_B50bowling03

A special honour as Jenny Douglas receives the Club Champion of Champions Trophy. No_B50bowling04

Arran Bowling Federation’s Ladies Singles Trophy winner, Ann Hollingworth. No_B50bowling05

All of the trophy winners pictured at the prize-giving. No_B50bowling06