Clash of the Titans

A Brodick attempt at goal is thwarted by an acrobatic display from the Lamlash goal keeper.

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Arran Banner – subscribe today for as little as 48 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

The finale of the Arran football season will take place today (Saturday) with the final of the Copperwheats Knockout Cup. Arran Haulage Cup champions Brodick and Arran Dairies League champions Southend will battle it out to see who will win the double this season.

Brodick 3 Lamlash 2

Brodick edged out rivals Lamlash in a close fought game on Monday night to book their place in the final. Young Finlay Aherne was drafted in at the last minute to referee the game and the youngster did very well to control a tricky fixture.

Toby Wingham was back from injury and got on the scoresheet to take his goal tally to 22 for the season, which all but ensures him the golden boot trophy. Strikers Cameron Logan and Joel Small were also on target for the home side on the night.

Lamlash goals came through Ben Tattersfield and Grant Adamson.

Southend 6 Shiskine 1

Southend had an easier route to the final as they dispatched Shiskine comfortably. Lewis Kennedy scored a hat-trick on the night but was also on the end of an aerial collision which broke his nose so he looks doubtful to play in the final. Ryan Armstrong added another two to his collection for the season and Stephen Judge also got on the scoresheet.

Euan Thomson got Shiskine’s only goal of the night. Referee Andy Pattison was left with no option to send off Iain MacDonald after persistent abuse towards the referee. Andy gave man of the match to Southend midfielder and playmaker Donny Park.

The final will be played at 3pm today (Saturday) at the Ormidale Park in Brodick supporters are encouraged to attend what promises to be a tight, action packed final.

Player of the year shortlist

The shortlist for player and young player of the year was decided by an 11 man committee. Each player in the league will vote from this list to select their player and young player of the year. The nominees are:

Babbies MacNeil (Brodick), Matthew Dobson (Brodick), Toby Wingham (Brodick), David Heenan (Lamlash), Johnny Sloss (Lamlash), Conor Jack (Shiskine), Danny Head (Southend), Donald Park (Southend), Lewis Kennedy (Southend), Ryan Armstrong (Southend), William Sillars (Southend).

Young player shortlist

Ross Dobson (Brodick), Ross Traill (Northend), Cameron Thomson (Shiskine), Gregor Crichton (Southend), James Currie (Southend) Joe McHugh (Southend).

Goal scorer Toby Wingham wins possession of the ball. 01_B36footy01

A Brodick attempt at goal is thwarted by an fine save by the Lamlash goalkeeper. 01_B36footy03

Players in a tight tussle for the ball. 01_B36footy05