Craig takes the title at Lamlash Open

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Arran Banner – subscribe today for as little as 48 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Arran born and bred Craig Young beat off stiff competition from a field of 192 players to take the Open cup in the 35th annual Lamlash Open.

With scoring ranging from 126 to 188 Craig competed over the weekend of Saturday and Sunday August 4 and 5, against another Arran local, Jamie Murchie.

Saturday morning was dreich and windy until the sun broke through the mist around noon. Craig, one of the early starters who began play at 8.10am set the target with a scratch score of 64. This was challenged by Jamie Murchie who teed off at 2.40pm and returned a scratch 61.

The 18 hole Pierhead Tavern cup was won by Jamie Murchie with 61-0=61, second was last years winner Neil Young with 68-6=62, BIH and third Frazer Barr 71-9=62, BIH.

Sunday heralded a beautiful day with a teasing wind at times. The 18 hole Drift Inn cup was won by Craig Young 62-0=62, second was last years winner Neil Young 70-6=64, BIH and third was Kenny Fairbrother 65-1=64.

The weekend was ably rounded off with the presentation of prizes in a packed clubhouse, followed by Tom’s disco into the wee hours.

Organisers of the open thanked Lamlash Bay Hotel for the hole-in-one insurance at every par 3, noting that one entrant very nearly won the £5,000 at the 13th.

A spokesman for the club said: ‘Many thanks to all the generous sponsors and the entrants from near and far who make the Open such a success each year. Not forgetting the team of volunteers that help to ensure such a successful and enjoyable event.’

The prizes and sponsored holes were as follows; Saturday sponsored holes: 1st long drive Kenny Glen, 1st n pin Sandy Kelso, 2nd n pin Ker Manson, 3rd long drive Neil Docherty, 3rd n pin Ker Manson, 4th n pin Jamie Murchie, 5th n pin Craig Campbell, 6th long drive Stuart Cameron, 6th n pin Chris Wall, 7th n pin  Aiden Moor, 8th n pin in hole David Cameron and Frazer Barr, 9th n pin Kenny Fairbrother, 10th n pin Craig Young, 11th n pin Ker Manson, 12th n pin Alan Hunter, 13th n pin Mike Elliott, 14th n pin Aiden Moor, 15th n pin Greg Thorburn, 16th n pin Mick Clark, 17th n pin Craig Young. 18th target E Mitchell, 18th n pin Drew Wales.

Sunday sponsored holes:1st long drive Nick Clark 300 yards, 1st n pin Craig Watson, 2nd n pin Iain Murchie, 3rd long drive 13+ handicap Stephen McNally 280 yards, 3rd n pin Ker Manson, 4th n pin E Mitchell, 5th n pin Stuart Campbell, 6th long drive Peter Gossman 280 yards, 6th n pin Allan Merry, 7th n pin Johnny McLeish, 8th n pin Cameron Herd, 9th n pin Stuart Campbell, 10th n pin Lyle Calder, 11th n pin Craig Young, 12th n pin nobody, 13th n pin Chris Wall – almost a hole-in one, 14th n pin Alan Hunter, 15th n pin Jamie Murchie, 16th n pin Frazer Barr, 17th n pin David Hutch, 18th target Stuart Cameron, 18th n pin Adam Aitken.

Special prize for overall winner of the best score on par 3’s handicap 0 to 14 Craig Young (0) with 49. Handicap 15+ E Mitchell 15 with 67. Open 36 holes, seniors qualifying age 60+, senior scratch won by Paul Clark with 142. Senior handicap also won by Paul Clark 6 with 130. Local Champion Neil Young on 126, BIH, second Frazer Barr on 126, third Dylan Smith on 132. Scratch Quaich, Craig Young on 126, BIH, second Jamie Murchie 126, third Stuart Cameron 137. Lamlash Open Cup. Craig Young 0, 126, BIH, 2 Neil Young 6, 126, BIH, 3 Frazer Barr 9, 126, BIH, 4 Jamie Murchie 0,126, 5 Paul Clark 6, 128. Highest score returned, Stephen Sinclair 24 with 188.

McLean salver qualifiers – best eight island residents. Andy Smith v Ryan Armstrong, Neil Young v Drew Wales, Graeme Andrews v Dylan Smith, Frazer Barr v Stephen Judge. Congratulations to Dylan Smith (24) who only a few weeks ago was given a senior handicap to play in his first Open event.

Following another enjoyable Open, bookings have already been made for next years open which will take place on Saturday and Sunday August 3 and 4.