This one’s for you Willie!


Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Arran Banner – subscribe today for as little as 48 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Sub-heading: Brodick dedicate Hope Cup win to three times captain

Brodick Golf Club are the winners of this year’s Hope Cup. And they have dedicated their win to lifetime club supporter, and three times captain, Willie Innes, who passed away last month.

The finals of the 2018 Arran Golfers Association’s Hope Cup competition began with the semi-final which was played at Machrie Bay on Saturday June 30, and took the form of two ball foursomes with no handicaps involved.

The event was played in superb weather conditions the coolest part of the day being at the start, with the warmest conditions of the day in the evening. Conditions certainly made play rather tricky for the golfers with fast fairways and tricky greens.

However, the spectators were given a real treat witnessing special skills, drives of exceptional length – even though some ended up in places which were not planned -crafty approach shots and superb long range putting.

The first match out was the host club Machrie Bay taking on Whiting Bay who had a rather comfortable win by six holes. There was even a bit of humour when the Machrie referee awarded Whiting Bay with a short put.

The second match was between Lochranza Castle and Brodick who had an even more comfortable win with one of the games being eight up through twelve holes.

During the interval a pleasant time was spent in the village hall- sheltering from the sun. As both of the afternoon games finished early it was decided, once everyone had eaten, that the final would commence at 5pm instead of 6pm.

The final took place between Whiting Bay and Brodick. The Whiting Bay team included Ryan Armstrong, Corey Allan, Nicol Auld and Jamie McPherson. The Brodick team was Mathew Keir, Ross Duncan and Ewan McKinnon and Ian McDonald.

In the first game, which completed all 18 holes there were four birdies, 18 pars and a number of bogeys and there were only two holes halved.

Brodick scored 70 with Whiting Bay on 72 but the game result was all square through 18.

In the second game which only completed 15 holes there were five birdies, 10 pars and only six bogeys. Whiting Bay scored 54 with one hole conceded, Brodick scored 55 and ran out winners by four holes. There were six holes halved.

At the presentation Hamish Bannatyne spoke on behalf of Machrie Bay thanking all who had supported to make the day such a success. Then Peter Emsley was introduced to present the Davie Mafarlane Award which went to Brian Sherwood who unusually, was rather speechless.

Jock Kelso president of the Arran Golfers Association presented the runners up trophy to Whiting Bay Captain Nicol Auld who voiced everyone’s opinion that Machrie Bay golf course was in the best condition it has ever been in our lifetime.

Ian Sillars, non-playing captain of Brodick on being presented with the Hope Cup, although delighted at his team’s win, simply stated that this was one for Willie Innes.

Willie, who died on June 4, aged 86, was a stalwart of the club – three times club captain and eight times club champion during a 70-year association.

Next year the Hope Cup is scheduled to be played at Lochranza, the venue of the first ever association event in October 1906. The course also hosted the Hope Cup six years later in 1912

The next event on this year’s calendar will be the Champion of Champions at Corrie starting on Friday August 10.

*More golf on page 24

Brian Sherwood (centre) is the recipient of the Dougie Macfarlane award for Machrie Bay Golf Club for outstanding achievement and service. Honorary President of MBGC, Peter Emsley (right) and vice-captain Campbell Laing presented the award.

Brodick Golf Club, winners of the AGA Hope Cup. No_B27golf01

Brian Sherwood (centre) is the recipient of the Dougie Macfarlane Award for outstanding achievement and service to Machrie Bay Golf Club. Honorary president Peter Emsley (right) and vice-captain Campbell Laing presented the award. No_B27golf02