Inter-school gala is a splashing success

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Arran Banner – subscribe today for as little as 48 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Words and pictures by Colin Smeeton

The annual primary school swimming gala held at the Auchrannie Hotel attracted a healthy entry of 85 pupils and almost double the number of supporters from all seven primary schools on the island.

Sally Hunter once again took on the race supervisor and starter duties with head teacher Barry Smith and volunteer Ross Dobson handing out the medals. On the poolside teacher Julie McGhee helped organise the swimmers into their age and swimming categories with the help of volunteers including Eilidh Macpherson and Ellie Bonner.

Starting with the youngest, P2 pupils swam a breadth of the pool while the heats continued up to the P7 pupils swimming numerous lengths of the pool in various styles. The events culminated in the medley and freestyle relays which saw the gathered supporters and parents loudly cheering the pupils on during the races.

The girl and boy who secured the most medals were Beth McCarthy and Ruaridh Lindsay Smith who both received championship medals.

Organisers thanked the Auchrannie Hotel for the use of the pool and all of the participants and their families who went along to support. A large thank you was laso expressed to all of the helpers, volunteers and school teachers that enabled the children to take part in the event.

Sub-heading: All the gala race results

P 2 Girls Race 1: 1 Isla McKinnon, 2 Layla Cociuban, 3 Nadia Filpkowska

P2 Girls Race 2: 1 Evie Southwick, 2 Millie Dwyer, 3 Stella Brunasso Cassinino

P2Boys Race 1: 1 Toren Litton, 2 Mathew Lindsay Smith, 3 Finlay Bowers

P2 Boys Race 2: 1 Lucas Pearcey, 2 Charlie Gilmour, 3 Victor Gwizdowski

P2 Boys Race 3: 1 Reece Popplewell, 2 Harry Popplewell, 3 Connor Inglis

Girls Champions Race: 1 Beth McCarthy, 2 Ruby Wright, 3 Abby Stewart

Boys Champions Race: 1 Ruaridh Lindsay Smith, 2 Archie Gunaydi, 3 Jack Popplewell

P3 Girls Race 1: 1 Nara Wood, 2 Eva McRae, 3 Hollie Buckbey

P3Girls Race 2: 1 Julieta Gray, 2 Kayla Hewie, 3 Keira Webster

P3 Boys: 1 Jamie Ferguson, 2 Herbie Helliwell, 3 Kellen Craig

P4 Girls: 1 Grace Popplewell, 2 Kitty Townsend, 3 Ella Bowers

P4 Boys: 1 Jake Early, 2 Alex Haddow, 3 Alfie Gilmour

P5 Girls Backcrawl: 1 Rhea Webster, 2 Tilda Litton, 3 Alfie Gilmour

P5 Boys Backcrawl: 1 Myles Lindsay Smith, 2 Logan Park, 3 Ben McCarthy

P6 Boys Backcrawl: 1 Jack Popplewell, 2 Joe Owen

P7 Girls Backcrawl: 1 Ruby Wright, 2 Beth McCarthy

P5 Girls Breaststroke: 1 Rhea Webster, 2 Rosie McNamara, 3 Caylyn Millar

P5 Boys Breastsroke: 1 Andrew Currie, 2 Myles Lindsay Smith, 3 Ben McCarthy

P7 Girls Breaststroke: 1 Beth McCarthy, 2 Abby Stewart, 3 Ruby Wright

P7 Boys Breastsroke: 1 Ruaridh Linday Smith, 2 Archie Gunaydi, 3 Jack Popplewell

P5 Girls Frontcrawl Race 1: 1 Rhea Webster, 2 Rosie McNamara, 3 Lily Keir

P5 Girls Frontcrawl Race 2: 1 Caylyn  Millar, 2 Lucy Blair, 3 Nina Szwalec

P5 Boys Frontcrawl Race 1: 1 Myles Lindsay Smith, 2 Andrew Currie, 3 Harvey Dale

P5 Boys Frontcrawl Race 2: 1 Ben McCarthy, 2 Logan Park, 3 Luke Goatley

P6 Boys Frontcrawl: 1 Jack Popplewell, 2 Harry Gilmour, 3 Reuben Bowers

P7 Girls Frontcrawl: 1 Beth McCarthy, 2 Ruby Wright, 3 Isabella Reid

P7 Boys Frontcrawl: 1 Ruaridh Lindsay Smith, 2 Archie Gunaydi

Medley Relay: 1 Lamlash, 2 Shiskine, 3 Brodick

Freestyle Relay: 1 Lamlash, 2 Shiskine, 3 Brodick


Head teacher Barry Smith and volunteer Ross Dobson present the children with their medals. 01_B22gala01

Teachers keep a close eye on pupils as they set off. 01_B22gala02

Children dive in as Sally Hunter blows the starters whistle. 01_B22gala03

Supporters and fellow pupils cheer on their class mates. 01_B22gala04

Competition was fierce for the popular front crawl category. 01_B22gala05

Starter Sally Hunter explains the rules of the race to S2 pupils. 01_B22gala06

Isla McKinnon proudly shows off her first place medal in the P2 category. 01_B22gala07

Champions of the gala, Ruaridh Lindsay Smith and Beth McCarthy show off their medals. 01_B22gala08