Strong local field in Ormidale 10k

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Arran Banner – subscribe today for as little as 48 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

A strong field of local runners were among the 81 entrants who took to part in the Isle of Arran Ormidale 10k last Sunday.

The event, which was celebrating its 30th anniversary, also had a record online entry this year including 23 local runners. Despite initial rain, the run, which takes participants from the start in Ormidale Park to Merkland Point and back, was held in mainly dry conditions, with the sun even making an appearance, but with some strong wind on the return leg.

Winner in his first Ormidale 10k was Scott Pilkington of Corstorphine AC in a very respectable time of 34min 49sec, with Calum Oates runner up with a time of 36.04. First woman home was Elaine Eadie of Kilbarchan AAC with a time of 40.48.

There were some good times too from locals with David Allsop of Arran Runners the first home finishing 8th in a time of 39.45. Mike Mellor, also of Arran Runners, was second in 17th place in a time of 42.30.

Arran resident Fiona Clarke took the overall women’s over 50 prize finishing in 22nd place in a time of 46.22, leaving Clare Marriott of Whiting Bay to take the first local women’s prize finishing 31st in a time of 49.17. Three runners from North Ayrshire AC took the team prize.

Ahead of the prizegiving race director Paul Emsley thanked the volunteer marshals for keeping the runners safe, the timekeepers and the others who helped on the day.

The other local runners and their finishing times were: Darren Townsend 47.06, Myles Johnston 47.19, Garry Tulloch 48.08, Stuart Brodie 50.23, Ken Hogge 50.28, Shane Henderson 50.39, Trefor Goronwy 52.17, Brian Donlin 54.00, Abbie McKelvie 55.06, Sue Francis 55.31, Sarah Blair 56.51, Patrick Scott 57.50, Carole Johnston 58.00, Liam McNeaney 59.57, Karen Ferguson 01.00.02, Beth Rees 01.00.04, Hugh Boag 01.00.06, Amanda Hogge 01.07.56, Ingrid Demazeux 01.10.06.

All 81 runners at the start of the Ormidale 10k 01_B17ormidale01

Winner Scott Pilkington, in white vest, gets to the front from the start. 01_B17ormidale02

Runners head out of Knowe Road. 01_B17ormidale03

First local man David Allsop heads to the finish line. 01_B17ormidale04

First local w0man Fiona Clarke is still smiling at the finish. 01_B17ormidale05

Miles Johnston from Arran finished in a very respectable 47.19. 01_B17ormidale06

Overall fastest female Elaine Eadie approaches the finishing line. 01_B17ormidale07

Patrick Scott from Whiting Bay makes a determined bid for the finish line followed by Carole Johnston. 01_B17ormidale08

Some of the prizewinners pictured at the end of the race. 01_B17ormidale09

Scott Pilkington of Corstorphine AC with his winners medal. 01_B17ormidale10