First trophy win for Brodick bowlers

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Arran Banner – subscribe today for as little as 48 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Despite the seemingly endless August rain almost all rink games were able to be played at Brodick Bowling Club.

Saturday August 26 saw the postponed George Watson Trophy played in lovely warm sunny weather for a change, and after a close competition the winning pair were Kenny Mabon and David McDonald. The club congratulates both of them for winning their first trophy at Brodick.

The results for the month were: August 3, David McDonald and Sandra McArthur +6, August 5, Sid Allen and David McDonald +24, August 7, Ann Hollingworth, Alan Bleakley and Sandra McArthur +14, August  9, Charlie Weir, John McConnachie and Andy McCrindle +15, August 12, Colin Haggerty and John Lauder +20, August 14, Charlie Weir and Charles Hendry +16, August 19, Charlie Weir, Andy McCrindle and Charles Hendry +6, August 22, John Lauder, David McDonald and Andy McCrindle +9, August 23, Charlie Weir, Teddy Kerr and Alan Bleakley +5, August 28, David McDonald, Jim Nichols and Teddy Kerr +25, August 30, Colin Haggerty, John McConnachie and Andy McCrindle +23.