All the trophy winners at the 181st farmers’ show

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Arran Banner – subscribe today for as little as 48 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

The success of farmers’ show is down to the army of volunteers who help out every year, the Arran Farmers’ Society said this week.

Despite heavy downpours on the day, a big crowd packed into the show field at Glenkiln to enjoy the day’s events at the 181st annuual show, as reported in last week’s Banner.

Secretary Christine McBride said: ‘The society would like to thank all volunteers who came along and assisted on the day – too many to name individually – all gatemen, car park attendants, raffle ticket sellers, runners, catering assistants, and not forgetting the directors themselves who spend almost a week setting up and taking apart the show field.

‘Also to the stock exhibitors, the owners of the vintage tractors and anyone else who helped make our day such a success. Thank you also to everyone who attended, and see you next year on Wednesday August 1 2018!’

For one farmer it was an anxious day. Niall McMaster’s wife Genevieve was in Crosshouse Hospital expecting their first child. When their Blueface Leicester shearling tup won reserve champion Niall, who thought he may have to leave the show at any minute, was terrified to tell her in case the excitement was too much.

For the second year running there were no dairy entries and most of the cattle judging was done at the farms because of the conditions in the field. There were also no suffolk sheep entries.


The silver cups and trophies for 2017 were presented as follows:  The James Bone Esq. Memorial Cup for the Overhead Championship of the Show, Lois Ashley, Ardloss, Machrie. The Robert Heggie Perpetual Cup for the Reserve Overhead Championship, R & N McMaster, Springfield, West Bennan.

The Late Mary, Duchess of Montrose, Challenge Trophy for the Championship in the Cattle Section, A Currie, Birchburn, Shiskine.  The Major Thomas Milligan R E Cup for the Championship in the Beef Section, A Currie. Silver Chalice presented by John Corrie for the Reserve Champion in the Beef Section, A Soutter, South Feorline, Shiskine. The John Paterson Bowl for Opposite Sex to Beef Champion, A Soutter. Silver Cup for the Male Champion of a bull of any age, R Irving, Hawthorn, Whiting Bay. The Lagg Challenge Cup for the Best Suckled Calf, A Soutter.

James Inglis Trophy, re-presented by Dr. John C Jenkins, for Best Cow in Milk bred in Arran,  N & D Henderson, Kilpatrick Farm, Kilpatrick. Perpetual Trophy for Pure Bred Traditional/Native Cattle Breeds, presented by Minuteman Press, Ayr., C McKinnon, Hillhead, Shannochie. The W A Robertson Perpetual Trophy for the Best Stock Handler under 16 in the section confined to Arran,  J Hamill.

John M Hamilton Perpetual Trophy for the Championship in the Pony Section, L Ashley. The Beverley Morrow Trophy for the Reserve Champion in the Pony Section, T Warwick, Old Stables, Kings Cross. Murchie Harvey Trophy for Overall Winner in Classes 25/26/27/28/29, T Warwick. Corriegills Arabian Stud Trophy for the Best In-Hand Horse or Pony in Classes 20/21/22/23 presented by D & C Hendry, T Warwick. Saddle Up Trophy for Overhead  Working Hunter, L Ashley, Arran’s Cheese Shop Trophy for Reserve Champion Working Hunter, K Morrison, Stonedown, Whiting Bay. Arran Farmer’s Society Perpetual Trophy for Best Rider 14 years and under, L Currie, Birchburn, Shiskine. John C Picken Perpetual Trophy for Best Pony 13.2 Hands or under, L Henderson, Kilpatrcik Farm, Kilpatrick. Kings Cross point Memorial Trophy, in memory of Margaret L. Abram, for Child Handler with Pony 13.2 Hands or under, A West, Ben Varrey, Whiting Bay. Dale and Hunter Trophy for Champion Clydesdale, D Lewis, Kirkend Nursery, Whiting Bay.

Craig Wilson Ltd. Trophy for Overhead Champion Sheep, R & N McMaster. Morton Perpetual Cup for Best Male or Female Blackfaced Sheep, J K & C Bone, Glankiln, Lamlash. John Selkirk Memorial Trophy for Reserve Champion in Blackface Sheep Section, J K & C Bone. R J Tod Perpetual Trophy for Male Champion Blackfaced Sheep, M McNeish, Craigview, Kilmory. G. & J. Tod & Sons Silver Cup for Best Home Bred Male, J K & C Bone. Perpetual Trophy for Best Home Bred Female, J K & C Bone. F H McLeod & Sons Trophy for Best Wooled Sheep, N & P Brown, Clachaig, Kilmory. Duke of Montrose Silver Award for Best Leicester, Male or Female, R & N McMaster. The E Ferguson Ltd Trophy for Reserve Champion in Leicester Sheep Section, R & N McMaster. Royal Bank of Scotland Cup for Champion Texel, W Currie, Bridge Farm, Balmichael. The Donnie McDonald, Balegra, Perpetual Cup for the Reserve Champion Texel, R & N McMaster. The James Craig Ltd., Perpetual Trophy for the Best of Opposite Sex to Champion, N & D Henderson. McNiven Trophy presented by D McNiven & Son, Machrie for Champion in Other Breeds Sheep Section, N & D Henderson. Robt. Young & Company Trophy for Reserve Champion in Other Breeds Sheep Section, F Anderson, Thistle Dhu, Shiskine. Fleece Trophy presented by Wool Growers Ltd, F Anderson, Drummond Trophy for Sheep with Most Points, J K & C Bone. Perpetual Trophy presented by the Prudential Assurance Company for Traditional Sheep Breeds, R & N McMaster. Arran Gas Company  Perpetual Trophy for Best Three Prime Lambs, W Currie. Bank of Scotland Cup for Best Pet Lamb, Lily Gribbon, Waterside Farm, Cargenbridge, Dumfries. Perpetual Rosebowl for the Best Shorn Fleece presented by J & J Lammie, F Anderson.

Mrs P Muir Perpetual Trophy for Best Dog,  R O’Neill, West Kilbride with Woody.  Arran Farmers’  Society Trophy for Reserve Champion Dog.  G McBurnie, Kilwinning with Callie. Arran Fine Foods Trophy for Champion Stick, D Brown, Ridgeway, Corriecravie. George Battison  Perpetual Cup presented by K. Sinclair for Best Shepherd’s Crook, D Brown. Archie Hamilton Agricultural Engineers Trophy for Champion Vintage Tractor,  C Hutton, Kilmory, Lochwinnoch.

The James Dunlop Donald Perpetual  Points Challenge Trophy for most points gained in Cattle, Sheep and Horse Sections,  J K & C Bone.