Janice is overall champion at annual show

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Arran Banner – subscribe today for as little as 48 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

On Sunday July 2 the Arran Riding Club held its annual show at Balgowan Farm, Shiskine. At the end of the competition the overall champion was judged to be Janis Murchie with Island Boy, with reserve champion going Tracy Warwick with Grants Town Unique.
The other trophies were: Best rider in show – Yvonne Kerr Trophy: Daisy McNamara with Kizzy. Best condition: Rosie Wilkinson with Milo. Best turned out – Betty Smith Memorial Trophy: Beth Hamilton with Kissme.
The full results were: Class 1, showing in-hand 4 years and under. 1 Laura Tulloch with Logan, 2 Diane Lewis with Love at First Sight. Class 2, showing in-hand 5 years and over. 1 Hollie Adamson with Lexus, 2 Rona Fulton with Ricky, 3= Eilidh McNeil with Coille Mor Summer Breeze, 3= Janis Murchie with Woody.
Class 4, showing under saddle 13.2hh and under. 1 Annie West with Harry Fudge, 2 Lily Currie with Missy, 3 Rosie Wilkinson with Milo, 4 Cara Henderson with Teddy. Class 5, showing under saddle over 13.2 hh, not exceeding 15hh. 1 Tracy Warwick with Grants Town Unique, 2 Hollie Adamson with Prince, 3 Emma Popplewell with Emma of Craignetharty, 4 Kirsty Morrison with Pearl.
Class 6, showing under saddle over 15hh, not exceeding 16hh. 1 Janis Murchie with Island Boy, 2 Lois Ashley with Kippin, 3 Laura Tulloch with Gem, 4 Isla Yuill with Velvet. Class 7, showing under saddle over 16hh. 1 Jennifer McNeish with Martel, 2 Vicki Yuill with Henley, 3 Diane Lewis with Corrie.
Class 8, best rider 10 years and under went to Niamh Gosman with Fred. Class 9, ridden veteran (horse/pony aged 15 and over). 1 Lisa Henderson on Teddy, 2 Daisy McNamara on Kizzy, 3 Kirsty Morrison on Pearl, 4 Lily Currie on Missy.
Class 10, working/ handy hunter rider, jumps 30cm max – Arran Riding Club Trophy. 1 Cara Henderson on Teddy, 2 Rosie Wilkinson on Milo, 3 Rosie McNamara on Paebal, 4 Annie West on Harry Fudge.
Class 11, novice working hunter, jumps 60cm, junior – Parker Animal Feed Trophy. 1 Daisy McNamara on Kizzy, 2 Lily Currie on Missy, 3 Kirsty Morrison on Pearl. Senior – Actor’s Choice Memorial Trophy. 1 Emily Armitage on Tia, 2 Lois Ashley on Corrie, 3 Vicki Yuill on Henley, 4 Beth Hamilton on Kissme.
Class 12, open working hunter – Jumps 90cm. 1 Jennifer McNeish on Martell, 2 Isla Yuill on Velvet, 3 Tracy Warwick on Grants Town Unique, 4 Lois Ashley on Kippin.
Arran Riding Club gratefully acknowledge the support and sponsorship received from Winsome Rosettes and Arran Haulage Services Ltd. The committee would like to thank everyone involved in making this year’s show a great success and special thanks to family for the venue. Details of up and coming events can be found on the club Facebook page and their website.